In June I took part in a seminar on ‘Fathers and fatherhood: policy, representation and experience’, organised by The Open University’s Centre for Citizenship, Identities and Governance (CCIG). I was pleased to be asked to present the findings from my research, alongside key researchers in the field such as Margaret O’Brien, Jacqui Gabb and Gail Lewis.

My great grandfather, Charles Edward Robb

My great grandfather, Charles Edward Robb

My grandfather, Arthur Ernest Robb

My grandfather, Arthur Ernest Robb

My presentation was entitled “‘With prayer from your loving father’: faith and fatherhood in one man’s letters to his son during the First World War” and drew on work in progress on my great grandfather’s letters to my grandfather in early 1916, when the latter was serving in the Royal Fusiliers and awaiting embarkation for France.

You can watch complete videos of all the presentations from the seminar here. My talk can be found on the second screen down. For Powerpoint slides from the presentation, follow this link and go to the foot of the page.

